• The Earl Not Taken

    The Earl Not Taken by A.S. Fenichel is $2.99! This is the first book in The Wallflowers of West Lane series and I like the cover for this one. Readers liked the heroine, but found the plot to be rather thing. Any thoughts from the Bitchery?

    Left standing on the side while their contemporaries marry into society, four young ladies forge a bond to guard each other from a similar fate . . .

    Finishing school failed to make a proper lady of Penelope Arrington. But as a Wallflower of West Lane, Poppy has a far more vital role—she and her three best friends have made a pact to protect each other from the clutches of dangerous, disreputable men. So when one of them is about to be married off to a duke sight unseen, Poppy makes it her mission to divine the prospective husband’s true character. If only she didn’t require the aid of London’s most unsuitable rake.

    Rhys Draper, Earl of Marsden, has known the headstrong Poppy since she was a young girl naïve to the ways of men. To her eternal chagrin—and to his vague amusement—they have been at odds over the memory of embarrassing first encounter all these years. Now, with his services in need, Rhys sees a chance to finally clear the air between them. Instead, he is surprised by the heat of their feelings. If the two do not tread carefully, they may end up in a most agreeably compromising position . . .

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as
    well. Thanks!

  • In the Shadow Garden

    In the Shadow Garden by Liz Parker

    In the Shadow Garden by Liz Parker is $3.99! This appears to be witchy women’s fiction, rather than a contemporary romance with magical realism. Though if you’ve read it, sound off in the comments!

    This richly atmospheric and luminous debut about three generations of empathic witches combines mystery, magical realism, and a touch of romance–perfect for fans of Practical Magic and Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe.

    There’s something magical about Yarrow, Kentucky. The three empathic witches of the Haywood family are known for their shadow garden—from strawberries that taste like chocolate to cherry tomatoes imbued with the flavors of basil and oregano. Their magic can cure any heartache, and the fruits of their garden bring a special quality to the local bourbon distillery. On one day every year, a shot of Bonner bourbon will make your worst memory disappear. But the Haywoods will never forget the Bonners’ bitter betrayal.

    Twenty years ago, the town gave up more than one memory; they forgot an entire summer. One person died. One person disappeared. And no one has any recollection of either.

    As events from that fateful summer start to come to light, there must be a reckoning between the rival Haywood and Bonner families. But untangling the deep roots of this town’s terrible secrets will expose more than they could ever imagine about love, treachery, and the true nature of their power.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as
    well. Thanks!

  • Prince of Air and Darkness

    Prince of Air and Darkness by M.A. Grant

    Prince of Air and Darkness by M.A. Grant is $1.99! This is a gay fantasy romance with a royal fae hero and a magical human. The next book in the series is also on sale. It seems like this is on the line of new adult and the magical school being more like a college, with the characters in their early twenties.

    Phineas Smith has been cursed with a power no one could control.

    Roark Lyne is his worst enemy and his only hope.

    The only human student at Mather’s School of Magick, Phineas Smith has a target on his back. Born with the rare ability to tap into unlimited magick, he finds both Faerie Courts want his allegiance—and will do anything to get it.

    They don’t realize he can’t levitate a feather, much less defend the Faerie Realm as it slips into civil war.

    Unseelie Prince Roark Lyne, Phineas’s roommate—and self-proclaimed arch nemesis—is beautiful and brave and a pain in the ass. Phineas can’t begin to sort through their six years of sexual tension masquerading as mutual dislike. But Roark is also the only one able to help Finn tame his magick.

    Trusting Roark’s mysterious motives may be foolish; not accepting his temporary protection would be deadly.

    Caught in the middle of the impending war, Phineas and Roark forge a dangerous alliance. And as the walls between them crumble, Phineas realizes that Roark isn’t the monster he’d imagined. But their growing intimacy threatens to expose a secret that could either turn the tide of the war…or destroy them both.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as
    well. Thanks!

  • Calico Palace

    Calico Palace by Gwen Bristow

    RECOMMENDED: Calico Palace by Gwen Bristow is $2.99! This is an American historical, which Carrie loved. She gave it an A grade:

    Beautiful. I adore this book with a couple of caveats that are pretty standard for the time period it’s describing (1848 – 1850) and the time period it was published in (1970, when the author was almost 70 years old). It’s fun, it’s by turns tearjerking and hilarious, it’s feminist, it’s romantic, and it describes a crazy time in history with a lot of excitement, some glamour, and a great deal of grit.

    This thrilling story of the California gold rush is not about the forty-niners, the prospectors who came rushing to the San Francisco area in 1849, but about the men and women who were there when it all began with the first discovery of gold in 1848, when San Francisco was a village of 900 people. These were the people who went up to the hills and came back staggering under the weight of the treasure they carried, and who began transforming San Francisco from a shantytown into one of the most brilliant cities in the world.

    This novel tells the unforgettable story of how these people walked into one of the most spectacular adventures in the world’s history. They saw the first samples of gold brought to the quartermaster, who said they were flakes of yellow mica. They were there when the first people who saw the gold were laughed at and called “crackbrains.” And they laid the foundation of the golden empire before the first forty-niners got there. Some of them could not meet the demands of this strange new world; others grew stronger and shared the greatness of the country they had helped build. Calico Palace is their story brought to vivid life.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as
    well. Thanks!

Don’t want to miss an ebook sale? Sign up for our newsletter, and you’ll get the week’s available deals each
Friday.

By posting a comment, you consent to have your personally identifiable information collected and used in accordance with our privacy policy.

↑ Back to Top