2024 NFL Honors: Who won the league's biggest awards?

Before the Kansas City Chiefs and San Francisco 49ers are meeting at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas for Super Bowl LVIII (Sunday, 6:30 p.m. ET, CBS), the best of the NFL gathered at the Resorts World Theatre for Thursday’s NFL Honors.

Baltimore Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson is seeking his second MVP after winning the award following the 2019 season. Cleveland Browns defensive end Myles Garrett is looking for his first Defensive Player of the Year award. San Francisco star running back Christian McCaffrey is the favorite to win the Offensive Player of the Year. And to start the night, Houston Texans rookie quarterback C.J. Stroud took home Offensive Rookie of the Year honors.

Here’s a look at who took home the awards and why:

Offensive Rookie of the Year

C.J. Stroud | QB | Houston Texans

Stroud earned this award through the countless rookie records he either tied or set. The former Ohio State standout led the Texans to their first divisional title since 2019 and was the first quarterback drafted in the top two of the draft since 1967 to win a playoff game in his rookie season. That win also made him the youngest to win a playoff contest, passing Michael Vick.

Stroud set the record for most pass attempts without an interception to start a career (191). He carried that momentum and also led the league in touchdown-to-interception ratio (23:5).

He finished the regular season with 4,108 passing yards — the third most for a rookie behind Andrew Luck (4,374 in 2012) and Justin Herbert (4,336 in 2020). His highest passing mark occurred in Week 9 against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers when he threw for 470 yards, the most ever by a rookie. — DJ Bien-Aime

Source link

Scroll to Top